Love

I’ve never fallen in love before and I always thought that to be a bit odd. After having many of conversations with my life coach I realized I carried a heart of stone. I never fully let people in, always guarding myself from them, sub consciously expecting the worst and just bracing myself through the ride. For me it’s always been easy to let a person go if I don’t agree with something they do or how they act BUT that’s not love. Love is accepting the person for who they are without trying to change them or hope they will. It’s loving all of their “imperfections” as we like to call them but in reality their our perfections since we are already perfect. Love is also allowing that person into your city where your walls are low enough for them to enter and don’t feel like they’re going to get trapped inside. I say trapped inside because one does not want to feel needed but instead they want to feel equal to you. They don’t want to be your sun and moon because not even the sun and moon are guaranteed. We love not expecting the same kind of love back because we are not dealing with ourselves so the way they show their love can not in anyway be the same as the way we show our love. There is no measurement of love or who’s love is greater because we can not quantify love. That’s why the saying “meet me half way” is false because what is half way? What’s half way to you may be a quarter for him and what’s half for him may be a whole for you. What is important to keep in mind here is accepting the kind of love you receive from your partner. Another’s love should be an addition to what we already have. It should be a surplus to our own love for ourselves. This love should already be so high that their love only compliments my love for myself. I should not feel whole or fulfilled if someone else is showing me love rather all that does is intensify the love I already have for myself. I have control over my love and if that love they provided goes away for whatever reason I still love myself so much that it doesn’t change the way I feel about myself. Granted one is going to be sad about loosing a partner but you won’t lose that “other half” because you have always been whole from the beginning.

Leave a Reply

