Soul Sessions Reunion

Catching my shadow
Catching my shadow

I recently attended the Soul Sessions Reunion at the Grand Star Jazz Club in Chinatown, CA. Soul Sessions is a collective of DJ’s which consist of DJ Plann B, The Remitch, Baby Bubba, and DJ B-Nasty along with the masterminds behind the group, Chad Corros and Jay Villanueva aka Ninja Simone. Each DJ adds their own twist to their music presentation, which also keeps the show diverse and interesting. They play a plethora of music from soul of course, funk, flashback, old school hip hop, and even some electro favorites along with so much more. The energy in the room is like no other. They had guest DJ’s who tore the roof off the place, StarRo from Soulection and Jeremy Sole from KCRW. StarRo was a crowd pleaser making everyone shocked and engaged by his self produced beats. I even caught someone pointing at me because my face showed utter shock at what he was playing for us, he’s genius. Jeremey Sole is always a good time playing afro beats mixed with flavorful Latin music and even throwing in some reggae too. You can’t not dance when you’re in this crowd of show stoppers. I had a great time with these fellas, I know The Remitch and Baby Bubba but I finally got to meet the rest of the crew. We hung out and enjoyed a late night snack we called the “after party”. There are talks about more reunions for 2015, I’ll be waiting!! You can hear these guys on soundcloud/mixcrate too…

The reMitch

Baby Bubba

Plann B

B-Nasty

StarRo

Jeremy Sole

BTS with Jeremy Sole
BTS with Jeremy Sole
Jeremy Sole cutting it up.
Jeremy Sole cutting it up.
StarRo killin' it
StarRo killin’ it
Baby Bubba wearing his epic Easy E .T
Baby Bubba wearing his epic Easy E .T
The Remitch
The Remitch
Lanterns in Chinatown
Lanterns in Chinatown
Little 'ol me, StarRo, and my friend Joanna
Little ‘ol me, StarRo, and my friend Joanna
Leave a Reply

